Venus

Venus

March 22 to April 13, 2019

Studio Theatre at the Hilberry
The Studio Theatre is only accessible by stairs

By SUZAN-LORI PARKS

Traveling from her home in southern Africa for what she hoped would be a better life, Saartjie Baartman became an unfortunate star on the 19th Century London freak show circuit. This Obie Award-winning play, written by Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Suzan-Lori Parks, gives vibrant life to the story of a young black woman’s journey to London, her rise to fame as the “Hottentot Venus,” and her eventual relationship with a French scientist. Inspired by the true story of Baartman, Venus is a tragic-carnival, an intense and devastating journey honoring the life of Baartman and examining the way we live and love today.

There is NO LATE SEATING. Out of respect for the audience and the production, patrons arriving after the performance begins will not be admitted.

Performance Schedule

Friday, March 22 (Opening Night) 8 p.m.
Saturday, March 23 2 p.m. and 8 p.m.
Tuesday, March 26 (School Matinee) 10 a.m.
Thursday, March 28 7 p.m.
Friday, March 29 8 p.m.
Saturday, March 30 2 p.m. and 8 p.m.
Sunday, March 31 3 p.m.
Wednesday, April 3 (School Matinee) 10 a.m.
Thursday, April 4 7 p.m.
Friday, April 5 8 p.m.
Saturday, April 6 8 p.m.
Thursday, April 11 7 p.m.
Friday, April 12 8 p.m.
Saturday, April 13 8 p.m.

Photo Gallery coming soon.

Cast & Creatives

Coming soon.

Teacher Resources

Download our study guide, great for teachers and parents to help prepare students for this production. Activities presented assist in achieving the Michigan Common Core State Standards (MI-CCSS).

You Might Also Enjoy...

Angels in America: Part Two

Perestroika

by Tony Kushner
April 26 to May 12, 2019
Hilberry Theatre