Sweat

Winner of the 2017 Pulitzer Prize!

Sweat

November 1 to 17, 2019

Hilberry Theatre
by Lynn Nottage

Filled with warmth humor and tremendous heart, Sweat tells the story of a group of friends who have spent their lives sharing drinks, secrets, and laughs while working together on the factory floor. But when layoffs and picket lines begin to chip away at their trust, the friends find themselves pitted against each other in a heart-wrenching fight to stay afloat.

“Keenly observed and often surprisingly funny—but ultimately heartbreaking—the work traces the roots of a tragedy with both forensic psychological detail and embracing compassion. Ms. Nottage…is writing at the peak of her powers…” — The New York Times

Date Time Note
Friday, Nov. 1 8 p.m. Opening Night
Saturday, Nov. 2 2 p.m. & 8 p.m.
Tuesday, Nov. 5 10 a.m. Call 313-577-2972 to purchase tickets to 10 a.m. weekday matinee.
Wednesday, Nov. 6 2 p.m. Meet the Cast Event
Thursday, Nov. 7 7 p.m. Curtain Up Event
Friday, Nov. 8 8 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 9 2 p.m. & 8 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 13 10 a.m. Call 313-577-2972 to purchase tickets to 10 a.m. weekday matinee.
Thursday, Nov. 14 7 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 15 8 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 16 8 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 17 3 p.m. Closing Performance

Group Discount Available

Save $10 off each adult ticket when you book a group of 10 or more.

Cast & Creatives

Coming soon.

Study Guide

Download our study guide, great for teachers and parents to help prepare students for this production. Activities presented assist in achieving the Michigan Common Core State Standards (MI-CCSS).

You Might Also Enjoy

The Winter’s Tale

A romance. A comedy. A fairy tale.

by William Shakespeare
February 7 to 24, 2020
Hilberry Theatre

Tobacco Road

An American Classic

by Jack Kirkland
March 20 to April 5, 2020
Underground at the Hilberry

Stage Kiss

A Superb Romantic Comedy

by Sarah Ruhl
April 24 to May 10, 2020
Hilberry Theatre

DON’T MISS A THING. SIGN UP FOR OUR NEWSLETTER.

Get the latest news, behind-the-scenes fun, and special offers when you subscribe to our mailing list.