Superior Donuts

Superior Donuts
September 18 to October 4, 2020
Hilberry Theatre
Written by Tracy Letts
✅  Available as part of a subscription package.

Celebrated playwright Tracy Letts (August: Osage County) brings his unique wit and style to Superior Donuts, the 2009 comedy set in a rundown donut shop in Uptown Chicago. Arthur, the shop’s owner, a former 1960s radical, has settled into his later years, accepting the shop’s downward turn. His energetic assistant, Franco, an African American youth from the neighborhood, believes the shop can become a community hotspot by updating the store with healthy menu options and lively music. This “odd couple” find themselves at generational odds in this warm and humorous comedy featuring the new Hilberry Graduate Acting Company.

“…a soulful play, full of humor and humanity…drawn with deep affection.” — Variety

Date Time Notes
Friday, Sept. 18 8pm Opening Night
Saturday, Sept. 19 2pm & 8pm
Wednesday, Sept. 23 2pm Meet-the-Cast event
Thursday, Sept. 24 7pm Curtain Up event
Friday, Sept. 25 8pm
Saturday, Sept. 26 2pm & 8pm
Wednesday, Sept. 30 10am Ideal for School Groups
For public tickets to this performance, call 313-577-2972
Thursday, Oct. 1 7pm
Friday, Oct. 2 8pm
Saturday, Oct. 3 8pm
Sunday, Oct. 4 3pm

Group Discount Available

Enjoy deep discounts when you buy a group of 10 or more tickets!

You Might Also Enjoy

Everybody
Written by Branden Jacobs-Jenkins
November 6 to 22, 2020
Underground at the Hilberry

It’s a Wonderful Life: A Live Radio Play
Adapted by Joe Landry
December 3 to 20, 2020
Hilberry Theatre

Our Lady of Kibeho
Written by Katori Hall
February 5 to 21, 2021
Hilberry Theatre

The Comedy of Errors
Written by William Shakespeare
April 15 to May 2, 2021
Hilberry Theatre

Stay in the new with our weekly email
Get the latest news, behind-the-scenes fun, and special offers when you subscribe to our mailing list.