"The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee" | March 5 to April 3, 2021

The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee artwork

The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
March 5 to April 3, 2021
Underground at the Hilberry
Music by William Finn, Book by Rachel Sheinkin. Conceived by Rebecca Feldman
Additional Material by Jay Reiss. Originally Directed on Broadway by James Lapine.
Originally produced on Broadway by David Stone, James L. Nederlander, Barbara Whitman,
Patrick Catullo | Barrington Stage Company, Second Stage Theatre

✅  Available as part of a subscription package.

Winner of the Tony and the Drama Desk Awards for Best Book, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee is a fast-paced, wildly funny musical. An eclectic group of six mid-pubescents vie for the spelling championship of a lifetime. While candidly disclosing hilarious and touching stories from their home lives, the tweens spell their way through a series of (potentially made-up) words, hoping never to hear the soul-crushing, pout-inducing, life un-affirming “ding” of the bell that signals a spelling mistake. Six spellers enter; one speller leaves! At least the losers get a juice box.

A riotous ride, complete with audience participation, it’s a delightful den of comedic genius.

Date Time Notes
Friday, March 5 8pm
Saturday, March 6 2pm & 8pm
Wednesday, March 10 2pm
Thursday, March 11 7pm
Friday, March 12 8pm
Thursday, March 25 7pm
Friday, March 26 8pm
Saturday, March 27 2pm & 8pm
Sunday, March 28 3pm
Friday, April 2 8pm
Saturday, April 3 8pm

Group Discount Available

Enjoy deep discounts when you buy a group of 10 or more tickets!

You Might Also Enjoy

92nd Annual Spring Dance Concert
April 2 and 3, 2021
Music Hall Center for the Arts

The Comedy of Errors
Written by William Shakespeare
April 15 to May 2, 2021
Hilberry Theatre

All My Sons
Written by Arthur Miller
April 30 to May 16, 2021
Underground at the Hilberry

Stay in the new with our weekly email
Get the latest news, behind-the-scenes fun, and special offers when you subscribe to our mailing list.