The Colored Museum

Feb. 2 through 18, 2018

by George C. Wolfe

Hilberry Theatre

Funny and poignant stories explore African-American culture and experiences in a satirical trip through time.

The Colored Museum has electrified, discomforted, and delighted audiences of all colors, redefining our ideas of what it means to be black in contemporary America. The eleven “exhibits” performed in this 75-minute satire undermine black stereotypes old and new and return to the facts of what being black means.

Of the original Broadway production, Frank Rich of The New York Times wrote, “Mr. Wolfe is the kind of satirist who takes no prisoners. The shackles of the past have been defied by Mr. Wolfe’s fearless humor, and it’s a most liberating revolt!” Jack Kroll from Newsweek said, “Brings forth a bold new voice that is bound to shake up blacks and whites with separate-but-equal impartiality. True satire.”

The Colored Museum is 1 hour and 15 minutes with no intermission.

Looking for the Educator’s Show Guide?

Performance Schedule

Friday, Feb. 2 8 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 3 2 p.m. and 8 p.m.
Wednesday, Feb. 7 2 p.m. (post-show talkback)
Thursday, Feb. 8 7 p.m. (pre-show discussion at 6:15 p.m.)
Friday, Feb. 9 8 p.m. Cancelled due to severe weather. See homepage for details.
Saturday, Feb. 10 2 p.m. (post-show talkback) and 8 p.m.
Thursday, Feb. 15 7 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 16 8 p.m. (post-show talkback)
Saturday, Feb. 17 2 p.m. and 8 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 18 3 p.m. (post-show talkback)
BUY TICKETS