Bus Stop

The Beloved Broadway Comedy

Bus Stop

March 20 to April 5, 2020

Underground at the Hilberry
by William Inge

The Underground at the Hilberry is accessible by stairs. If you have a mobility concern, please call the box office (313-577-2972) 24 hours in advance so we can assist you.

The hysterical story follows a group of bus passengers who are forced off the road due to a howling snowstorm and find themselves gathered at a cheerful roadside diner while waiting for the roads to clear. Among the travelers are Cherie, a nightclub singer on the run, Bo, a brash young cowboy who’s desperate to make Cherie his bride, Carl, the intrepid bus driver, and Grace, the diner’s owner who more than fancies Carl. The original Broadway production was nominated for four Tony Awards including Best Play, Best Featured Actress in a Play (Michigan’s own Elaine Stritch), Best Scenic Design, and Best Director.

There is NO LATE SEATING. Out of respect for the audience and the production, patrons arriving after the performance begins will not be admitted.

Date Time Note
Friday, March 20 8 p.m. Opening Night
Saturday, March 21 2 p.m. & 8 p.m.
Tuesday, March 24 10 a.m.
Thursday, March 26 7 p.m. Curtain Up Event
Friday, March 27 8 p.m.
Saturday, March 28 2 p.m. & 8 p.m.
Wednesday, April 1 10 a.m.
Thursday, April 2 7 p.m.
Friday, April 3 8 p.m.
Saturday, April 4 8 p.m.
Sunday, April 5 3 p.m. Closing Performance

Group Discount Available

Save $10 off each adult ticket when you book a group of 10 or more.

Cast & Creatives

Coming soon.

You Might Also Enjoy

Mary Poppins

A Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious Experience

Disney + Cameron Macintosh
April 10 to 19, 2020
Bonstelle Theatre

Stage Kiss

A Superb Romantic Comedy

by Sarah Ruhl
April 24 to May 10, 2020
Hilberry Theatre

DON’T MISS A THING. SIGN UP FOR OUR NEWSLETTER.

Get the latest news, behind-the-scenes fun, and special offers when you subscribe to our mailing list.